Posted by: successforrealpeople | October 23, 2008

Gratitude: The Key to Contentment and Happiness

“Gratefulness is the key to a happy life that we hold in our hands, because if we are not grateful, then no matter how much we have we will not be happy — because we will always want to have something else or something more.” ~ Brother David Steindl-Rast

You will create a paradigm shift in your world when you are able to appreciate where you are and what you have at this very moment.  You might ask how is it possible to feel grateful when you hate your job, or you’re struggling to pay the bills, or you don’t like the way your life has turned out.  The answer to that is to look around.  You will always find someone whose situation is worse than yours. Then take a good look at your own life.

  • Did you wake up this morning?  Great! You’ve been given the gift of a brand new day to seek solutions to your current situation.
  • Do you have family or friends?  Thank God for those people who give us a shoulder to cry on, an ear to listen, or a hug when we need it.
  • Do you love someone?  A spouse, partner, child, a pet?  The expression and feeling of love is unequal and unmatched to any other emotion we can experience.  Focus on that today.
  • Do you live in a free country? How fortunate are you to be able to pursue life, liberty, and happiness!  Imagine living in a country where your occupation is decided for you or the number or gender of children is dictated by your government.

This is how I start my day, with gratitude and appreciation for all that is good in my life.

  • Thank you God for the gift of a brand new day. I’ll do my best to find all the good in the day that I can.
  • Thank you God for the sunshine this morning that warms my house and my body.  I’ll enjoy this beautiful fall day because I know that days like this one are winding down.
  • Thank you God for the gifts of sight, hearing, taste, smell, and touch which allows me to fully experience all aspects of life.  What a blessing!
  • Thank you God for the beautiful relationship I have with my daughter for it allows me to experience a depth of love that is beyond description.
  • Thank you God for all of the difficulties and struggles I have experienced for they have helped me to grow and to become a stronger, more confident and happy woman.
  • Thank you, thank you, thank you!

Learn to appreciate and be thankful for where you are today.  Happiness can be found and experienced right where you are if you change your focus from what you lack to what you have.

Wishing you much happiness and success!


Responses

  1. […] you suffer from seasonal depression, try changing your focus.  Keep a daily gratitude list to help you see all that is good in your life.  Spend some time with positive people.  Do […]


Leave a comment

Categories